Tags

, , ,

Roller Derby Girls–Our Suppressed Desires, 2010

What a hilarious mix of songs today! With the exception of Jack Johnson and Phish, they are all upbeat and fun. But that’s usually the case, right? Kind of like this photo. It’s a bit scary up close. But upon further revelation, we are sheep in wolves clothing.

I couldn’t resist this picture. In the summers, we would have a suppressed Desires dance, and the three of us chose Roller Derby Queens, which is pretty amazing. We were a total hit. And very out of character for all three of us. It fits perfectly with Jim Croce today.

I have been home for all of 12 hours. I am leaving this afternoon for my trip to Oregon. Two bags unpacked, one repacked, sheets changed, laundry put away, wine club attended, sleep procured, electronics charged, e-ticket printed. Everything is done.

I meant to have a few fun surprises for our reunion but life got in the way this past week. It’s okay though. Thank God for Walgreen’s and their super-swift photo processing. I am picking up 38 prints, which I placed an order for…four minutes ago. They will be ready in less than 2 hours. Talk about a new take on the old One-Hour photomat!

Because it’s early and life is a little blurry this morning (actually, my glasses are packed, and my contacts are out–so yes, it is a little blurry) I don’t have too much to write. But here’s what I glean from today’s songs. That’s to say, if I were writing a short story with one-liners from today’s songs, it would look like this:
Who’s the one to decide that it would be all right to put the music behind the news tonight? (Johnson). We hate it when our friends become successful. And if they’re Northern, that makes it even worse (Morrissey). And the roller derby program said that she were built like a ‘fridgerator with a head. The fans called her “Tuffy” but all her buddies called her “Spike” (Croce). I am just another shooting star above that you might see, Until I have your full attention I’ll be anything but me (Phish). Cause if you take your time, you’re gonna find you blew it. Go thru it and do it, yeah. Do it, yeah (Diamond). La la la la la la, la la la la la la (Wonder).

That’s about as good as I can do today! Pretty terrible…Hah!

My Cherie Amour–Stevie Wonder

Roller Derby Queen–Jim Croce

Anything But Me–Phish

We Hate it when our Friends Become Successful–Morrissey

Bad News—Jack Johnson

Do It–Neil Diamond

